Home

I woke up at 6 am and the boat was no longer rocking. Nothing was happening. It was so still and so quite, I looked out the window and saw we were docked in Sydney, next to the terminal. It was dark and stormy outside, I knew we were going to get very wet on our way home that morning. I opened the door, it was FREEZING! It had to be snowing in the mountains it was that cold. Both David and myself had turned our phones back on the night before, now in Sydney we had received a butt load of messages and missed calls as well as numerous notifications on Facebook. David was still sleeping beside me but I couldn’t go back to bed. I didn’t want to read the messages until David was up so I caught up with my emails.

Finally David woke up but I was dressed and ready for breakfast. I went up stairs and got him some coffee a cinnamon swirl and a croissant, which I brought back down to the room. I went back up stairs, got my last buffet breakfast of the holiday and took it back to the room. There we waited until our disembarkation letter was called. We were off the ship pretty early and it wasn’t until I was on land again that I started to feel a bit wired. I realised I still had my “sea legs” and needed to get my “land legs” back. I had a meeting at work which I was supposed to go to but I was feeling so ill I just wanted to go home and rest, and please make the rocking stop!

We caught the train and walked home in the rain. I was so relived when I walked through our front door. The house was spotless, just the way we left it. We were able to go straight to bed and collect ourselves. After having  a little rest I was starting to feel better, David suggested we go through the holiday snaps and upload them to Facebook.  I also uploaded the few entries I had written already for the blog on to this website.

We both had a really great time and were so happy that we decided to go. David asked me if I would do it again, I said I probably would but not for another two years. The overall experience was wonderful, I was glad we went with carnival as every single staff member we interacted with really loved being on the ship, loved their job and truly enjoyed interacting with guests. The environment very much reminded me of work, everyone is so passionate and willing to go above and beyond to make the guests day memorable. If you are questioning whether to go on a cruise stop now, book your holiday with carnival and look forward to one of the best holidays of your life!

Signiture

Leave a Reply

