The Revenant

This movie. Yeah, I’m not sure if I would describe it as amazing. The cinematography depicting the awesomeness of the nature and landscape was breath taking, but these shots were 90% of the film. Were they necessary? Did we need all that padding?

I understand that when you’re in a beautiful place you want to capture it as much as you can, but this film had way too much. It got to the point where you became disconnected and disinterested in the story. I found myself at the end of the film saying “Well that was a waste of two and half hours of my life”.

This film had a fantastic story to tell, one about a real person in history, why did they feel the need to add to the story? The presence of the son does nothing, except maybe justify a little more Hugh Glass’ need for vengeance. The guy was abandoned in the wilderness, left for dead after being mauled by a bear! That’s justification enough, I’d be pissed if someone did that to me. Further more, this story has a different ending to the original, which I just didn’t care for once it got to it, because I was so disinterested by that point that I just wanted it to end.

I think Leonardo DiCaprio deserves an Oscar, I have been blown away by pretty much every performance he has ever done.  I don’t think his performance in this film was anything special, something was lacking. He committed 100% to this role as he does to every role, I just felt this shouldn’t have been the one he won the award for. He should have gotten that award years and years ago.

All in all I am pretty disappointed with the way this one turned out. It’s sad to see something with so much potential fall short of the mark.

Signiture

Leave a Reply

